Fix slow network problem with old dreambox 7020 the easy way

As mentionned here I experienced a very severe network issue with my Dreambox 7020. Transferring movies between the DBox and my PC was simply unbearable. I saw lots of posts instructing to replace a capacitor on the mainboad but I found that too hard to do. I solved the issue a different (and easier) way. Turns out that if you connect the Dreambox to a Gigabyte switch, the  switch to another Gigabyte switch and finally your PC to the switch, the network speed goes back to normal.

So I did the following :

Dreambox –> D-Link Gigabit Switch DSG-1008B –> Netgear Switch GS-116 <– My PC

…and it’s working… very strange isn’t it ?

3 Responses to Fix slow network problem with old dreambox 7020 the easy way

  1. Dreambox says:

    A very interesting article here.

  2. John Etherington says:

    Dreambox should have re-called all 7020-S with this fault – it’s a design problem and it’s their fault!
    Product NOT as described – return for a full refund!
    My network and CF slot have never worked from day one – all upgrades have to be by serial port.
    ver here – over priced – over rated!

Leave a Reply

